Who My Children Really Are – A Note to the Teachers

image

As parents you tend to know your children inside out.  Every mannerism, every look, what makes them happy or sad and their little ways of dealing with life.

When starting nursery and school you hand part of that job over to the teachers.  You trust them with your most prized possessions and hope that they learn to see those elements that you love about your kids too – the special things that make them who they are.

Both of my children took a while to settle in to nursery and school at first.

My little boy is very sensitive and cried for the first few terms every morning when he started school.  Definitely a steep learning curve for him (and me) there was no doubt.

My little girl is a bit tougher, but she often tells me that she doesn’t talk at nursery (which is not like her) and she went for a long time barely eating any of the food they offered her, until she settled in.

I have several friends who are teachers and they had advised that I sit down with the children’s schools shortly after my diagnosis of breast cancer, and explain the situation – to ask for any support that we may have needed as a family over the coming months.

It wasn’t actually as hard as I thought, because I had already cried many a tear having had the same conversation by that point.  There was just one thing that I desperately wanted to make them see – to understand – I wanted them to know who my kids really are.

I think I was panicking in a way because I realised that there wasn’t enough time for me to explain everything that I felt I wanted to.

You see on a normal day you always have your child’s back – you just do.  You can pop into school and explain their worries, point out anything that may have been missed and generally be their ‘voice’ when they are unsure.

I realised that I was going to lose this ability and I had no idea how long for.  I was also going to spend an awful lot less time with each of my children, something over which I had no control.

image

So I decided to write a piece about each child (for myself) – maybe just something for me to remember the ‘snapshot’ in time;  the time that seems to have passed me by so quickly, and in such a blur over this past year…

Isla Mary

By her very definition is destined to be a gutsy girl.  Named after her great grandma – spirited to say the least.

Brave and fearless in everything she does.

Dancing, twirling, laughing and sparkling, from the moment she opens her eyes in the morning.

Her funny little mannerisms. Sucking on her two fingers when she tires or is unsure. Snuggling and purring as she drifts into sleep, holding her special blanket.

Inventing made up friends called Pickups and Rory to join in her imaginary games.

Left and right handed, so intelligent, she never misses a trick.

Tiny dainty feet that sometimes trip her up.

A perfect round belly of which she is most proud.

Beautiful blonde curls that ringlet down her back.

Loving animals of all kinds, you can see in her eyes she will always be kind to them.

A lover of arts and crafts, drawing, sticking and cutting for hours on end.

My little girl makes people work for her affection, rarely giving out kisses – but when she does it’s truly special and real…

Noah Geoffrey

A cheeky little boy who’s smile lights up a room.

Early riser, full of energy, never resting, always interested in anything new.

Giant imagination for make-believe adventures, even in his dreams.

Climbing and running are when he’s most proud, looking down at his legs to check they are moving fast enough.

Always in awe of the tallest, the fastest, the biggest, always hoping that one day he will be just like his daddy.

So sensitive and caring to those around him, and although shy and nervous at first, he will always oblige with a cuddle if needed.

Once confident he almost soars above others, and his heart bursts with pride when he does well.

Loving jokes and magic and doing tricks to make you smile – a happy hearted little boy…

Silly it seems to write it all down, to summerise your own little person – but it is harder than you’d think.

Being ill has made me stop and realise that both of our children are brimming with happiness (despite all of this).  Looking back I am glad I did manage to write down those words, because both have changed so much already over this time.

Our children challenge us everyday.

Definitely not perfect by any means – but regular, naughty, everyday kids and that is how it should be.

One thought on “Who My Children Really Are – A Note to the Teachers

Leave a Reply

