One Day At A Time – an open letter

Dear Friends & Family,

I just wanted to say sorry for not quite ‘getting round to it’.

Sorry for missing your birthday.

Sorry for not returning your invitation.

Sorry for not wanting to come out (I probably did in the end, but I probably didn’t want to at the time).

Sorry for not remembering the things we had planned.

Sorry for… well, just not giving it 100%.

You see, I am probably struggling a bit more than I realise at the moment.

I do write things down, I do add things to the calendar – or perhaps you even reminded me..

Yet I still am not quite ‘getting round to it’.

At the moment being a mum is taking up all of my efforts, every ounce of my concentration, and there is not much room for anything, or anyone else I’m afraid.

If it makes you feel any better my husband is also being neglected.  He knows better than to ask ‘what’s for dinner?’ or ‘what are we doing at the weekend?’ because I just can’t think that far ahead.

All I can think of is one day at a time.

The shopping hasn’t been done, the fridge is empty, the dinner hasn’t been made – BUT the children are fed, bathed and happy, and that is about as far as it goes at the moment.

So this is a genuine apology.

I don’t care any less about you (or even the special things in life you may be going through) it’s just that I am ‘not getting round to it’ in general.

I am hoping it is temporary, but it may be here for a while – so in the meantime thank you for understanding.  

All my love,

Dee

 image

2 thoughts on “One Day At A Time – an open letter

  1. So beautiful and written with love Dee ‘m sure, however also I’m certain that true and genuine friends will say- ‘no need for an apology, focus your energy on healing’ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

