A Random Act of Kindness

image

I am just a mum, an ordinary mum of two.

There are thousands of mums just like me.  Mums who try to juggle family life as best they can.

A year ago I found out that I had breast cancer.  ‘Mums do not have time to get ill’, I had always thought.

It is hard to believe that just a few months ago I was midway through a course of chemotherapy.

I think it is fair to say that my treatment got harder and harder.  Perhaps it was the cumulative effect, I don’t know.

All I do know is that the more it went on, the more difficult I found it.

I started to struggle to stay strong and that positive mindset I had in the beginning, began to disappear.

Then all of a sudden, a random act of kindness saved me.  The hand of friendship.  All of a sudden, a tiny glimmer of belief reminded me of something.

I was reminded that there are things that I love to do, and I held on to it.  I found my outlet – my bit of space to explain my story, and my little world.

Whenever coffee mornings and play dates had come around they always made me nervous.

And yet, I find myself sharing my breast cancer diary – my very personal thoughts – for all to see.

There is a reason, a very good reason, why I choose to tell my story.

To raise awareness of the illness that has tried to take me, and many others before me.

And so, if just one other mum remembers to check herself – then it will all be worth it one thousand times over.

The thing is, that random act of kindness was not shown to me by another mum in my neighbourhood, but by one who lives hundreds of miles away.

Someone I have never met, yet I am proud to call a friend.

A random act of kindness.  

Pass it on.

image

Leave a Reply

