I’m no expert- I wish I was

There comes a time in life when you realise that somethings just happen.

I won’t say they happen for a reason, although they probably do, but more that they just happen and it seems that there is nothing we can do to change it at all.

There are some who have lost dear friends.

Friends they have known their whole lives throughout childhood.  Friends who have been with them through thick & thin, through the very best of times and the very worst of times.  Friends who are not really friends, but somehow became family along the way.

There are some who have lost a family member.

And it doesn’t seem fair, and it doesn’t seem right, that the very special bond is torn apart by illness and life.  A mother or father, or sister or brother, who can never, and will never be forgotten.

There are some who have lost children, the most unspeakable thing of all.  The biggest injustice of all.  When a parent would gladly swap places with their child without hesitation.

There are some who have lost those from the older generation.  A most treasured member of the family.  The person who has always been there, always.

Life can be so cruel.  There is no rhyme nor reason I am finding more and more.

Of course I am no expert (I wish I was) and I don’t always know what to say in the right places, but I do know one thing – life is strange.

Taking the time to listen, taking the time to understand means more than you will ever know.

Once a heart is broken it can’t be fixed.

Time heals, slowly, but it does.

Appreciate every moment with those you love and smile at the precious memories of those who have gone.

Somethings in life just happen.

I am no expert.

I only wish I was.

image

 

3 thoughts on “I’m no expert- I wish I was

  1. I’ve given up questioning “why”. You are absolutely right, things just happen and in many cases, there are no reasons. It is usually our desire to have some level of control that pushes us to question everything, at least that’s my case. It just seems so unfair. But life isn’t fair and there will always be injustices, it seems. Like you, I wish I was an expert. But then I wonder if that would take away some ‘valuable’ things I may be overlooking. Sigh…life trade-offs. Life is just too complex and I feel tired. And I am only in my 30’s. I am trying to appreciate everything I have though, especially those who love me. Thank you for the reminder. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment. There really doesn’t seem to be any reason I am finding more & more. I feel tired too and I am only in my thirties. I do feel very lucky to have my family and friends as I see others lose theirs. It is important to focus on the good I think.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

